Tester connections

In 2011 I had coffee with someone who would go on to make a massive difference to my life. That person was Rosie Sherry. We were having coffee before one of the Cambridge Tester meetups that Rosie ran. It was one of those meetups where James Bach just happens to be speaking. One of those meetups that seem to be special to the Ministry of Testing family.

Over the years Rosie has personally introduced me to amazing testers. She’s organised events and created online communities that have led to me knowing so many more great people. Many people comment on how strong the UK testing community is. That strength comes from having someone like Rosie cajoling, encouraging, and quietly connecting us together.

The TestBash conference has turned into an event where you can hear great talks, but also a place where you can catch up with or meet some of the world’s best testers. It was at TestBash that I met my Weekend Testing co-facilitators Dan Billing and Neil Studd. A year later I got to know my awesome co-tester Kim Knüp.

Over the years I’ve been encouraged to write articles for The Testing Planet, film things for The Dojo, contribute to The Software Testing Club, speak at TestBash, and host Masterclasses.

I don’t think I’m the only one who has appreciated, and benefited from all the hard work that Rosie puts in to create an amazing testing community. Maybe today is the day that you return the favour by buying a TestBash ticket, signing up to the Dojo or even contributing some of your own ideas.

